Automatic Image Optimization: Part 5, Going to Extremes

Sardinia

After some surprising, some confusing and some dissapointing results with the tools for automatic image optimization, I thought I’d try going to extremes. While I chose all other photos for their lighting situation, none of the originals was really bad concerning quality. I mean underexposed or even with a strong tint. So how about those pictures we’d rather delete than spending hours of work on them? I was curious about, so I desperately searched for an example to test with my applications (No, I’m not sooooo vain, it simply was difficult to find one, because I usually throw away those kinds of images 😉
The one above was shot in September 2005, when I was in Sardinia for a shooting. Probably it is kind of typical for a „touristic-terrific“ picture at the beach: directly into the sun, underexposed, weird colors. So I had to do a lot of work to get to the result you can see above. In this case, I want to show you the original file as well, so you can get an impression of how much the software-candidates had to adjust.

original

As I anticipated it was a hard job though all results look better than this original. To my very surprise, PhotoPerfect delievered the best output. I didn’t expect this, because PhotoPerfect regularly did the worst job in the other tests. But this time it is the only file that is light enough to show a bit of this flickering back light I also find in my own manipulation. It’s just a bit too much yellow in it and the shadows look to dark and lose details. I rate Image Editor as second to best. It is acceptable in brightness and has suitable colors, though again, Image Editor tends to saturate the primal colors very strong. All other results are too dark and very close in color-interpretation. I give place 3 to Xe847 for the good contrast and details in the shadows. Intellihance is very similar to that, but darker in the shadows. FixFoto reveals a bit more details in the darks, but overall is too dark for being rated better. This time, DxO only wins last place because it is way too dark, has too low contrast and poor colors/intensity. Here they are for terms of comparison:

PhotoPerfect:

PhotoPerfect

Image Editor:

Image Editor

Xe847:

Xe847

Intellihance Pro:

Intellihance Pro

FixFoto:

FixFoto

DxO:

DxO

So this was the last lap of my software-race for the cup of auto-image-optimization. The final results in order from best to last are:

  1. Image Editor: 26
  2. DxO Optics Pro: 22
  3. Xe847 ProPlus Plug-in: 21
  4. FixFoto: 19
  5. Intellihance Pro: 18
  6. PhotoPerfect: 13


Proceed to Conclusion?
Back to Part 4, Studio?

Dieser Eintrag wurde veröffentlicht in Computer, Photographie, Software am von .

Über Till Erdmenger – Businessfotos

Till Erdmenger ist seit 1996 als Profifotograf tätig. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt im Bereich Businessfotos – unter anderem für Kunden wie ISS Facility Services, Merck Serono, Kaufhof, Porsche, Volkswagen oder den Marburger Bund. Die Kompetenz von Till Erdmenger liegt in der Unternehmensfotografie, zu der neben professionellen Businessportraits vor allem Imagefotos für die Unternehmenskommunikation und die Dokumentation von Firmenveranstaltungen zählen. Till Erdmenger bietet seine Businessfotos neben kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen gezielt auch Kliniken, Ärzten und Zahnärzten an.

2 Gedanken zu „Automatic Image Optimization: Part 5, Going to Extremes

  1. Pingback: till erdmenger photographer

Kommentar verfassen

